The Seventh Prayer (Update 4)

knife-attack-300x258

Light is on my side
Light do not forsake me
In the darkness hide
Darkness that’s inside me

Breathe it from within
Exhale from without
This my smoke is kin
All shall fire out

– Author Unknown

Hello everybody! I’m back with another update post for you, where I confess quite truthfully what I have been up to this week in terms of writing. Firstly, I have to apologize for missing the post for Tuesday. Life simply caught up to me, and by the time I had the time to write, I no longer felt like writing, so there was no Tuesday post.

However, if you recall, last week I mentioned that I wanted to average 800 words a day up until today, right? Well, believe it or not, I actually succeeded. Progress has been great in the story, but it needs to speed up, and so right here and now, I’m setting our next goal at 900 words a day. But, I’ve also decided that I want to do something slightly different for this post. Rather than bore you with more numbers and vacuous updates, I’ve decided that I’d like to talk a bit more about Eternity and about what you can expect from it.

So far, the story has been a blast to write. It has allowed me to combine some of my greatest ideas and put them all into one place, and is pretty much my dream story. There’s lots of fun characters, whom I’m working to make more diverse and individualized, and its in a fantasy setting of my own creation with all kinds of room for special powers and it’s chock full of lore and history.

There’s politics, mystery, action, adventure, suspense, etc. I think the only thing I don’t really have in there right now is romance and horror. Kind of weird to put those two words in a sentence together.

I’ve also been working on incorporating some of the things I talked about in last Tuesday’s post. In fact, in the most recent chapter I wrote, I packed in a huge punch that I didn’t even see coming, which I’m hoping means you guys won’t see it coming either.

There are some things about it that I need to fix though. I feel like a lot of the descriptions are pretty flabby, and could do with tightening and more detail. That is one of personal weak points: a lack of proper description. Sure, I can tell you guys what I see, but I have a hard time trying to actually show you guys what I see, so I’ll have to work on that.

I’ll be honest. I’m slightly concerned that the deadline is in about sixty days, but hey, that’s part of the fun, and it will keep me from dragging on the editing and writing forever. I’m sure you guys will be more than ready for me to release Part 1 by then. Yes, just to remind anybody who forgot, I don’t plan to have the story finished by then. Just Part 1. With the size of the world I’m creating and the scope that I’ve included with the number of characters, this is going to have to be a multi-part story.

Anyway, I think I’ll have to end this update post here, but I won’t do it without sharing my progress with you guys first. We’re currently sitting right around 15,290 words, which combined with the words I wrote for this post and the last, averages right around 800 words a day. That is 3,580 words more than we had last week, and if we continue at this rate, we’ll be right around 48,000 words by the deadline, which is, again, somewhat behind schedule, especially since I plan to spend at least three days editing, but hey, it’s not bad. =P

Tours yruly

Don’t ask me why the image is someone holding a knife. Just imagine the possible scenarios… =P

6 thoughts on “The Seventh Prayer (Update 4)

  1. lol, I’m looking forward to this story. People have told me that description is one of my strong points (sometimes I describe too much.) I think that mostly, description just requires a strong image of what you want to describe, and a large vocabulary 🙂 Just a tip.

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think!

