Time to Write

screenshot2012-03-19at8-25-18pm

Hello everybody! I know it’s been a while since my last post, but that is, as you guys can probably guess, because my girlfriend was over for Christmas, and so naturally, all my time was devoted to her, which left me no time for writing. However, all that is over, since she left yesterday, and so I’m back here on the blogs.

Since these posts are normally about reflecting on the past week, I feel it will be apt to reflect on the past year, seeing as while I’m writing this it is still the first of January.

2016 has been quite the year for me. It marks my transition from being a high school senior to a college freshman. It started off quite unfavorably, as all the colleges I had applied to (Ivy League for the record (yes, I know, stupid)) rejected me, and that, quite naturally, was upsetting.

However, graduation came along, and that brought with it its joys. Four years may not seem like a long time, but it certainly felt like it, and being finished with grade school was very satisfying. Then, however, I had to look to the future.

Of course, since I had not been accepted into any colleges, the only remaining route was community college, to finish my general education while I sent out another round of applications. This turned out to be quite the boon, but I’ll talk about that later.

During the entire summer of last year (feels strange saying that), I wanted to get a job. However, I was unsuccessful, and most likely for lack of trying. Instead, I mostly went hunting, and worked towards the fifty hours of driving required for my driving license. Yes, I do realize that getting your license at seventeen is quite late by all standards, and to be honest, the deadlines turned out to be pushed quite close.

School started August, and while my community college is by no means far away, it’s also not a distance I could just walk every day, and so it was imperative that I got my driver’s license. However, my test was only to be in July, and so if I failed, it would have essentially messed up the entire fall semester.

Thanks to God, I was able to pass my test, and throughout Fall 2016, drove myself to school and back six times a week.

I mentioned earlier that it was a boon that I ended up in college last semester, and indeed, I think it is thanks to God’s wisdom that this happened. By attending a community college, I was able to complete the majority of my gen eds for much cheaper than it would have cost me at a four-year university, and I stand to collect a Math associates this coming semester as well as completing all my gen eds, which would make me a junior after only a year in college.

Of course, this year contained much more than just school, and apart from a series of hunting trips, starting with my first (a turkey hunt at the beginning of the year), to my most recent (a pheasant hunt where I shot my first game), there have also been several visits from people close to my heart who live far away.

During the thanksgiving season, my cousins who live in Singapore came over to visit, and we had a glorious time together, after having not been together for some years. We played games, spent lots of time on the trampoline, and even went out for a few rounds of bowling.

And then, on Christmas, as I’ve mentioned before, my girlfriend came over, and we also had a fun time together, and we have the pictures to show for it (which you guys might see later down the line). Just yesterday I sent her home, and today we fell back into our normal routine of video calls and texting.

All in all, the year has had its ups and downs, and now that we are starting in a new year, I do suggest we begin as my mother encouraged us all, by putting on a new self, a better self. For all we can ever ask of ourselves is to be better than we were before. If every day of every week of every month of every year, that commitment is made, then nothing will prevent 2017 from being better than 2016.

Put on then, as God’s chosen ones, holy and beloved, compassionate hearts, kindness, humility, meekness, and patience, bearing with one another and, if one has a complaint against another, forgiving each other; as the Lord has forgiven you, so you also must forgive. And above all these put on love, which binds everything together in perfect harmony.

– Colossians 3:12-14 (ESV)

Tours yruly

2 thoughts on “Time to Write

Tell me what you think!

