P&P Post 4: Netflix and…

part1

Hey! It’s me, and I’m back with another post in the LDR journal series Pen and Pencil about Anna and I. Today we’re talking about movies and how Anna and I manage to watch them together while being two thousand miles apart. If you’re interested in our last post about how we play games together, you can find it over here, on Anna’s blog. This post we’re going to be covering what we watch, where we watch it, and how we manage to stay synced in spite of the distance.

Believe it or not, early on in our relationship, Anna and I would watch movies together by literally flipping the camera on one of our phones (which we used to video call each other), and point it at the computer screen so that the other could see what was going on. Needless to say, it was not the most clean-cut option, nor was it particularly effective when we ran into issues with poor connection. But it was something we could do together, and that’s all that really mattered.

Eventually I started dragging Anna into watching YouTube videos with me (I was, and still am, a pretty big YouTube buff). On one of these occasions, I came across a website known as synctube that allowed us to play the same YouTube video on our computers and actually remain synced. This was our dream! For a while we’d been looking for a way we could watch things together, and this was it. We used synctube for a really long time, but unfortunately, it was only limited to YouTube videos.

One day, the thought occurred to me that there might be other syncing options out there apart from synctube. (Yep, technology freak over here was a total noob when it came to these syncing options). Turned out there was a lot more things out there than I thought, and we found a plugin for Chrome called showgoers which allowed you to sync Netflix movies. This was another development, as it allowed us to progress from simply watching YouTube videos, which I suspect Anna did not enjoy as much as she let on.

Anyway, showgoers had a relatively short existence with us when compared to synctube, because in an effort to find something that would sync up Hulu (yes, I’m also a big Hulu watcher), I stumbled across Rabb.it. Of all the syncing options which we’d tried (there was another one somewhere along the line, but it really was short-lived and I don’t really recommend it), Rabb.it turned out to be perfect. An option that actually creates a virtual browser multiple computers can share, this allowed us to sync anything we wanted, and even browse the web together (which, for the record, we’ve done).

All in all, while we’ve only been using Rabb.it for a relatively short while, it’s made our movie/show nights a lot easier. For any of those out there looking for an option that allows them to do stuff on the web with a friend who’s not currently in the same location, I highly recommend you try Rabb.it.

And, since I did promise at the beginning of this that I would go over what we watch, well, we’ve seen a number of movies together at this point. I dragged her into watching a couple of martial arts/parkour movies with me XD. Then during our YouTube phase, I pulled her along the route of a whole lot of game playthroughs. (You seeing a pattern yet?) Having come back to Netflix and now Hulu, our most recent phase is a number of anime series which I am once again dragging Anna through. I will say, though, with no small amount of pride, that I convinced her that anime is actually worth watching and enjoyable, and it was over an anime show that she first suggested we watch a second episode after just having finished one. (Success!)

If you’re interested, we saw the first half of Death Note together, and then it got funky and kinda boring ioo (that’s “in our opinion” btw). Before that we watched all of the current Attack on Titan and are anticipating the release of more episodes. We also went through the emotional rollercoaster that is Tokyo Magnitude 8.0, and are now working through Angel Beats. (Angel Beats is a really great one by the way. I would highly recommend giving the first three or so episodes a try, and if you don’t like it, well, I can’t give you back your time. Sorry).

Anyway, that’s all I have time for now. Keep an eye out for the next installment on this series which will appear on Anna’s blog. We’re having a blast doing it, and hopefully you guys are enjoying reading these little snapshots of our relationship. And here’s just a bonus picture I found while browsing my phone:

IMG_3140

Anna hugging the tiger I bought for her when we were together in person 🙂

Tours yruly

8 thoughts on “P&P Post 4: Netflix and…

Tell me what you think!

