P&P Post 2: Computer Problems…

Apple_MC024LL_A_17_MacBook_Pro_Notebook_684525

Apple vs. Windows anyone? What have I done…

So, for those of you who’ve seen Pen & Pencil Post 1, you know what this is all about. For those of you who haven’t, this series basically follows the LDR I have with the wonderful Anna who you can find at her blog here. Sorry this didn’t come earlier, but I’ve been really busy with school and getting ready for APs and whatnot.

Anyway, one of the things Anna and I do is play games together. Some of you might wonder how we achieve this. Well, sites such as Pogo.com have helped us in interacting despite being 1,700 miles apart. Beyond that, I — in all my gaming nerdiness — dragged Anna into playing League of Legends with me, which was kind of fun. =P

Unfortunately, tragedy struck.

One day my computer froze up. No problem. Just force shutdown. I did, and that is when it refused to start up again. Needless to say, a couple of hours later, I finally booted it up in recovery mode, found that nothing was wrong with the hard drive, and managed to start it up normally. However, when Anna and I next tried to play a game, my computer crashed. Since then, we haven’t been able to play games together, since my computer can’t support it. So that brings us to the point of this post.

What do we do when technology fails?

Since our relationship is so heavily dependent on technology, it can be quite terrifying when it fails. And with one and a half years of experience, we’ve essentially become veterans at dealing with bad connection, lack of battery power, computer problems, and software issues. So, in case you’re interested, or if you’re in an LDR as well, here’s what we do for each of those problems.

There are many remedies to bad connection. A staple of our relationship is FaceTiming daily, but that does not always go as planned. When connection drops, the first thing we do is check if data has been enabled for FaceTime, because everybody knows how unreliable wifi is. If it gets really bad, we’ve found that restarting the call or even our phones can help. When all else fails, we’ve fallen back to phone calls which usually work with more stability. Texting also works too, but when you’ve been in an LDR a while, you realize very quickly how nice it can be to actually hear each other.

I’m sure everyone with a phone has been out in the middle of nowhere and realized at the worst possible moment that your phone is low on battery. Imagine, now, that you’re in the middle of a crucial texting conversation that has the potential to go on for hours. I’ve lost track of the amount of times this has happened to us.

As a precautionary measure, we first notify the other of the potential low power situation. Then the brightness on the phone gets taken all the way back, every app save the texting one is closed, and the repeated cycle of turning the phone off between texts and keeping texts as short as possible starts. Believe me, it gets interesting. However, it actually does work, and many conversations that would have ended because of a drained battery actually reached their completion.

Computer problems always stink, whether or not you’re in an LDR. Fortunately, I’m an absolute computer nerd, my Dad is a programmer, and my brother is really into technology. See the pattern? Anyway, since the problems that computers can run into are so diverse, I won’t necessarily cover solutions to problems here, but I will tell you an interesting story.

Anna and I were staying up rather late. She’d decided to keep me company while I did a school assignment (I believe). You should also keep in mind that since she’s in Illinois and I’m in good ol’ Cali, she was technically up two hours later than me. Anyway, long story short, she somehow managed to download and install a virus on her computer (we still don’t know how).

When she finally told me, she’d been battling it for long enough that she’d forgotten where she’d downloaded it from, what exactly had happened, and I realized I was in for a big job. We essentially spent the next two hours clearing off any rogue processes on her computer and cleaning up her system files where the virus had decided to nest itself. We still have no idea if any actual permanent damage was done, but seeing as her computer has been running fine since then, and seeing as the antivirus software she downloaded afterwards said her computer was clean, I think we’re fine.

And, finally, software issues. Basically, we have one tip for all you other LDRers (is that even a word?) out there. Make everything replaceable. Have multiple ways of texting, calling, communicating, and engaging with each other. For example, we have email, phone calls, FaceTime, iMessages, Synctube (which we’ll cover in another post), GroupMe, Google Hangouts, Twitter Messages, WhatsApp, the list goes on.

Anyway, those were just a few tips and stories about our relationship with technology. Ha. Get it? ‘Cause we’re in a relationship and it’s a relation— never mind.

Have a good one you guys.

Tours yruly

4 thoughts on “P&P Post 2: Computer Problems…

Tell me what you think!

