Our Last Witch

20130815-165610

That does look delicious. =P

Here arrives another storyling for the Monday’s Minute Challenge! This one follows the story of Hansel and Gretel after they killed their first witch. Ashamedly I admit to having to read the story here, just for a quick brush-up, but that’s only because I’d read it once when I was a kid, so give me a break. =P The word count is 297 and I used the prompt:

  • Write a passage either incorporating or based on this phrase: “I told you we shouldn’t have done that.”

Enjoy!

Ever since Gretel and I had decided on this old witch, I’d had a bad feeling about the whole plan. We didn’t lack experience, no, Gretel and I had killed many more witches in their ovens since our first, but this one felt different.

“Stop worrying,” Gretel admonished me.

Not wanting to seem afraid, I said, “I’m not. I was just thinking about Father.”

Gretel sniffled, and I feared that I might’ve upset her about Father’s death again, so, trying to brighten us both up, I whispered conspiratorially, “Do you think she’ll be as rich as our first?”

“They’re never as rich as our first,” Gretel complained, and wiped her nose.

With similar quiet discussion, we eventually came to the house in the woods.

“Does it look familiar?” I asked Gretel.

She ignored my paranoia and broke off a piece from the window.

No sooner had I snagged a piece off the roof than a voice said, “Nibble, nibble, gnaw, who is nibbling at my little house?”

In the unison of months of practice, Gretel and I replied, “The wind, the wind, the heaven-born wind.”

Then the door opened and an aged woman appeared. She smiled a smile full of missing teeth and invited us inside. We followed her like good little children. The door shut abruptly behind us, but this was normal.

We sat down in the offered chairs and started gobbling up the food she laid on the table. Abruptly I straightened, feeling my eyelids droop. Gretel looked at me, her eyes already half closed. The woman stood in the corner, smiling at us, and I realized what I had seen before. This was the witch’s sister.

My last words were, “I told you we shouldn’t have done that.” Then I fell over, unconscious.

Tours yruly

2 thoughts on “Our Last Witch

Tell me what you think!

