A Review of the Diamond Throne by David Eddings

c6af0c926e8125bafbdfb46c20c93fe7

Hey guys. So, as usual, this review was delayed. I actually finished this book a while ago but only just got around to doing my review of it. But here that is! I hope you enjoy. 🙂

David Eddings’ book, The Diamond Throne, follows the story of a devoted knight determined to save the life of his queen. Part one of The Elenium series, this book gripped me right from the very beginning. The characters appealed strongly to me, and the genre, medieval fantasy, is one I enjoy. Overall I felt that The Diamond Throne was not a difficult read, and I fairly raced through it, finishing it in a few days. Sparhawk, the protagonist, has the kind of personality that I love seeing in a character, and Eddings did a good job of supporting that with his cast of other characters.

The story’s style is fairly simplistic, and the vocabulary, while somewhat archaic, is neither high-flown nor unsophisticated. Eddings wrote with an overall bluntness which I personally kind of liked, treating various subjects with a certain frankness that I’ve not seen very often. Lending to the feeling of coarseness and grit in Sparhawk, Eddings’ writing was direct and concise, well-executed and succinct. Something that bothered me in the story were the relationships of Sparhawk and his servant. While I get that it can be humorous, it just disappointed me somewhat.

Plot-wise, The Diamond Throne engaged me. Taking the typical scenario of damsel-in-distress, Eddings put his own twist on it that takes the reader through an adventure full of surprises, quirky and fun characters, and action and danger. Throughout the story, the plot was very direct and understandable, and Eddings managed to tie various supporting threads in and weave it all together into a colorful mosaic of a fantasy world in which the rightful queen to the throne has been encased in crystal to preserve a life, her life, which only one thing can save.

Emotionally, this story had an undercurrent which for me was difficult to miss. The loyalty of a knight to his queen and his desperation were well-done. Eddings portrayed Sparhawk’s intentions well, and the bonds of camaraderie and friendship really helped push his story to the next level. There was no small degree of humor in this package as well, and several times I smiled as I read, a phenomenon which does not happen often.

However, there is one thing I will gripe about: the ending. At this point, many of you might be confused, since anyone who knows me would know that I believe a good ending is absolutely crucial to a good book, and that I would never praise something so highly if it has a bad ending. The above has not changed. But I mean in now way to imply that the ending to The Diamond Throne was bad or that it left a sour taste in my mouth. On the contrary, it made me wish to get my hands on the sequel. What disappointed me was that the story did not finish. As a book, I will say that while The Diamond Throne concluded, it did not finish and is not complete without the rest in the series.

Overall, I enjoyed The Diamond Throne, and really would like to read the sequel(s), though I don’t know if I’ll be able to get my hands on them. The story engaged me and was the first good book that I’ve read in a while. I like the style and the characters, just wish it was in and of itself a more complete story and that Sparhawk was a little less callous about his relationships. Ah well. Four out of five stars.

Tours yruly

One thought on “A Review of the Diamond Throne by David Eddings

Tell me what you think!

