Thursday’s Word [Week 8]

We’re coming close to two digits for this series! So cool. Anyway, this week I bring you another word from probably a very familiar source, especially on my blog, and if it isn’t familiar, you should probably make yourself familiar with it because it is very good for new words. Enjoy! And I hope you learn something.

Week: 8
Word: Lapidary
Definition: “(of language) Engraved on or suitable for engraving on stone and therefore elegant and concise; of or relating to stone and gems and the work involved in engraving, cutting, or polishing; a person who cuts, polishes, or engraves gems.” (New Oxford American Dictionary)
Backstory: Alright, this is another word from vocabulary.com. I promise you I’m not sponsored. XP Anyway, I figured it was cool because I didn’t know what a person who cuts, polishes, or engraves gems was called, and then I looked it up in the dictionary and it even has meaning related to elegant and concise language? Way cool.
Picture:

Is it just me? Or do you guys also love the look of cut gemstones?

Is it just me? Or do you guys also love the look of cut gemstones?

So, I don’t know how much I’ll use this word, ’cause it’s pretty obscure, and I’m probably gonna forget it soon, but we’ll see. Maybe when I have a jeweler in one of my stories I’ll use it. =P

Tours yruly

2 thoughts on “Thursday’s Word [Week 8]

Tell me what you think!

