Rant on Love Part 2 (LDRs) – Fifth Journal Entry

No!

No!

Oh, whoopsies. I guess it’s 12. That means Saturday has started doesn’t it? Confoundit. XP I am supposed to get these journals out on Friday. =P Anyway, you’ll see from the title that this is a sequel to my last journal entry, the rant on love, and I’m getting sleepy, so I’ll make this quick. The topic for this one is also related to love and relationships and the horribleness of the world around us, but mainly it’s just a place for me to express my frustration. You may have noticed that for the past few posts on my blog, there has been a common theme of loneliness. There is a reason to that.

Now, a lot of you guys who follow me are probably on the internet a lot, so I don’t know if any of you have had or are in long-distance relationships, but I am in one. I have had a long-distance relationship for about seven months now (that’s actually quite crazy to think about). For those of you who have had experience, you know how fulfilling and how painfully lonely long-distance relationships can be. For those who don’t know, growing close to someone you’ve never physically met is not an easy process. And by that I don’t mean that it is difficult to grow close, I mean that it is difficult when you grow close.

There’s always this desire in the back of your head for some kind of physical contact. Holding hands, a hug, going on walks, sharing meals, etc. It’s draining to have the worst mediums available for communication: emails, letters, texting, and video calls. These come no where near to replacing the element of being there in person. And thus we become lonely, and wistful, and sad, and it is the most torturous thing to see other couples out there, in person, completely confounded ignoring each other. I mean come on guys!

Seriously. It is the absolute worst thing when I see two people out on a date and they are staring at their phones. Or when I am in a park and see a couple strolling but they aren’t even holding hands. That is sooooo ridiculous. They are wasting what they have. They have that opportunity for physical contact, that moment in which they can establish a physical bond, and they don’t. It makes me very angry to be quite frank. XP

That’s the first part of my rant. The second part of my rant, which will close this journal entry, is on the dating culture a lot of the world now seems to revolve around. I touched on this briefly in my last journal, but I will bring it up again. Everyone thinks of relationships as evanescent things, wisps that appear and disappear. That really is not the way it should be. When you date someone, it should be with the intention of getting married. in fact, calling it dating is really a misnomer, because if everyone actually dated, which is what they do now, they’d be doing the wrong thing, as they do now. What they’re really looking for is courtship.

Now that sounds like a fancy, scary word. A lot of you have probably heard of it and are saying to yourselves, “Wait a second Michael, that’s for when you’re serious.” I know. And I am saying that if you ever decide to “date” someone, you had better be 100% serious about trying to marry that person, because if you aren’t, then forget it. If you’re unsure because you’re not sure how well you know the person, get to know the person. Be their friend, go out, do activities together. Learn about them, then make your decision. And for crying out loud make sure you get permission from both sets of parents, because it is the worst kind of situation when you don’t.

Anyway, that’s it for this rant. I think I am more verbose the more tired I am, or maybe I just felt like ranting. Either way, hopefully my heated words weren’t completely wasted. Goodnight folks.

Tours yruly

11 thoughts on “Rant on Love Part 2 (LDRs) – Fifth Journal Entry

    • Exactly. You can’t casually date when you’re in a long distance relationship or it will just die out, thus it provides an acute awareness of casual dating.

      ~Michael Hollingworth
      Disce Ferenda Pati – Learn to endure what must be borne

      Like

  1. Don’t worry, your message wasn’t lost on me. I get it completely, and I also get angry at people who waste what they have. To me, that’s like someone throwing away a juicy steak in front of a starving orphan. Gives me righteous anger }:(
    Anyway, before I rant with you, I’ll just say hang in there. Think of Romans 8:39: “…nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.” This is a fantastic verse, which strongly declares that everything on earth is but a triviality, because it cannot separate love.
    Anna B.

    Like

    • I’m glad you understand. It’s always hard when people don’t get it, and like I said, it is very hard when other people aren’t fully committed or serious. Thanks for the verse! It’s really nice. 🙂

      ~Michael Hollingworth
      Disce Ferenda Pati – Learn to endure what must be borne

      Like

Tell me what you think!

