Together

I don't have to comment on every one of these you know...

I don’t have to comment on every one of these you know…

Alright, you guys are gonna read this and ask me, “Michael, when are you ever going to write something happy?” The answer to that is when I feel like it. XP Don’t worry, i’m really not a depressed psychopath as much as I may seem like it. =P Also, the name of this poem is deceiving if you haven’t known me for a while. “Together”, you see how that sounds happy? That means it’s sad. XD

Anyway, believe it or not, this poem is actually another entry for the Monday’s Minute Challenge. Don’t ask me if doing a poem is allowed because I don’t know. I just felt like doing a poem and saw nothing against it. I used the prompt where I had to use three words: spoons, tears, and sunflowers. I don’t know how well this one is going to do, since it isn’t the kind of thing I usually submit for the Monday’s Minute Challenge, but we’ll see. Enjoy my sad poem. =P

Silver spoons reflect a tear-stained face
Sunflower-covered dress fringed with lace
Elegant step lost all of its grace
Fleeting glimpse; a figure running to that secret place

Lightning flashes brightly overhead
Rumbling thunder wakes a little boy from his bed
The figure falls and vision flashes red
No energy left to move, curls up instead

Crimson stains stain the sunflowers on the dress
A hunter’s arrow left its bow and in the figure it rests
Cries out; worn hand scrabbles and grasps
Figure rolls over and grips the arrow in its chest

Baying hounds run, leading flickering torchlight
He had promised her everything would be alright
Lids droop shut over tears; eyes losing their sight
Then over her crumpled body he stands, ready to fight

Sword flashing, glinting with torchlight and fire
Many fall to the blade, but he starts to tire
More press in, and the situation grows dire
Down he goes with his final foe in flame and fire

She uncurls and lies back; she’s run the race
Arrow falls from the sunflower dress fringed with lace
Her hand grabs his as her eyes see his ashen face
Together they died in their secret place

Believe it or not, I’m pretty sure this is the first time I’ve written a poem that tells a story.

Tours yruly

14 thoughts on “Together

  1. That was so tragic and beautiful at the same time. Sounds like something I would write while feeling sad, although mine wouldn’t be near as good. 🙂
    I can’t imagine you not placing this week! 😀

    Like

    • Thanks! That’s a thing with me. It tends to be my saddest stuff that is the most beautiful. XP Maybe I’m just a depressed person. =P And that’s another thing. I mean, I think it’s pretty good, if I say so myself, but I don’t know how well a poem will go over with the judges. XP Ah well, can’t hurt to try right?

      ~Michael Hollingworth
      Disce Ferenda Pati – Learn to endure what must be borne

      Like

Tell me what you think!

