First and Last Lines

So, this is a post I decided to do where I compile the first and last lines of all the novels/novellas I’ve completed. I figured I’d do this just ’cause I got reminded recently of an old assignment for CW class where we had to do that with other books, so now I’m gonna do it with my own and comment on the books as I go. =P

Pretty X)

Pretty X)

1. The Mystery of the Highway Terror

Opening line: “The night sky was dark and gloomy, an enormous black canvas, not even broken by the twinkling of stars.”

Closing line: “Then she said to the now standing David, ‘Thank you.'”

Comment: So, this was my first novel I completed, and the first line has actually been revised lots and lots of times. It started as, “It was a dark and rainy night”, or something of the sort. XP Y’know, the cliché beginning and stuff. I don’t think the ending line was changed in my editing passes though, and if you ask me, looking at it, it looks like a pretty ok ending line, though the story that fits between those two is the cheesiest thing you’ll ever read. So much cheese! XD

Who doesn't love swords? =P

Who doesn’t love swords? =P

2. The Chronicles of Samaaria, or the Tale of the Three Andrews

Opening line: “’Shinnel, go call Andrew,’ an old man with a beard that reached down to his chest ordered.”

Closing line: “They left weeping, for they left the land that they had worked so hard to gain.”

Comment: I’m not a fan of that beginning line. Something about the description is awkward, and “old man” is kind of too y’know like um vague for uh me? Yeah. XP The closing line is cool though. I’m glad to see not all my stories ended happily. 🙂

What is it with me and these fellas? XP

What is it with me and these fellas? XP

3. The Adventures of Jackson Jones: Case of the Dog That Didn’t Bark

Opening line: “Jackson Jones was a well-built man who lived in a stately yet old mansion handed all the way down from his great, great grandfather.”

Closing line: “Sherlock continued to stay faithfully by his master’s side to face any new adventures that may come on.”

Comment: Pretty generic, descriptive opening line, and a bit of a cheesy closing line if you ask me. I don’t hate either of them, but I don’t like them either. Ah well.

Hehe. Silly picture =P

Hehe. Silly picture =P

4. The Mystery of the Stolen Identity

Opening line: “‘Grace! Grace!'”

Closing line: “In fact, he got such a big shock that he fell head over heels, off the chair and onto the floor.”

Comment: I love that ending line XP Especially since I can remember writing it. I know exactly where it came from, and what it’s about. =P Internal jokes for the win. XD As for the starting line, meh. I mean, okay I guess, but I don’t think I’m too big a fan of starting stories with dialogue– not anymore anyways.

A simple model with a new software. Yay!

A simple model with a new software. Yay!

5. Twist

Opening line: “Nobody knows it’s coming– that’s why it’s the Twist.”

Closing line: “First she examined it from all sides, then imitating the doctor, she said softly, ‘All it needs is a twist.'”

Comment: So this is one of my more recent stories, and if you’re curious, it was the novella I did for CW class. I like my opening line(s) in this story, and I think I ended with a cool thing too, referring back to the name of the book, which was really a key thing throughout. Fun stuff!

I believe this is a famous painting, but what do I know of art? XP

I believe this is a famous painting, but what do I know of art? XP

6. Galatic Battles: Nightmare

Opening line: “He lay back in the bed, his upper torso unclothed, ready for the needles that were about to inject his body with a suppressant for his condition.”

Closing line: “Name change accepted.”

Comment: This was a fun story to write. I’ve always enjoyed sci-fi, and this was in a universe I had created, so it was fun to do. I also was writing it at the same time as Twist, which made writing it interesting. I think the first line is cool, ’cause it’s a pretty powerful hook, and the last nine is neat ’cause it’s short and works well to summing up the entire story. 🙂

That’s it! 🙂

Tours yruly

8 thoughts on “First and Last Lines

  1. So cool! *hurries off to read the novellas* It’s kind of interesting, because I can tell your writing grew and got better, just by the opening/closing lines, without even reading the novellas.

    Like

    • Yeah? That’s cool. 🙂 I can definitely see that too in my writing. I’m glad it’s not just me. Enjoy the stories! 🙂 (Not all of them are novellas. =P Just the Adventures of Jackson Jones one and Twist are novellas. The rest are all full-fledged novels. XP)

      ~Michael Hollingworth
      Disce Ferenda Pati – Learn to endure what must be borne

      Like

    • Yeah? Well, I’ve got two of the six up. The other four are old ones. =P If you want though, I can post the old stories for you to read.

      ~Michael Hollingworth
      Disce Ferenda Pati – Learn to endure what must be borne

      Liked by 1 person

    • Not all of them are, but if you like, I can post the ones that aren’t. I meant to hyperlink to the stories that I have up. Give me a second. =P

      ~Michael Hollingworth
      Disce Ferenda Pati – Learn to endure what must be borne

      Like

Tell me what you think!

