Broken

Just 'cause I'm obsessed with broken glass

Just ’cause I’m obsessed with broken glass

It’s been a while since i’ve done a thirty-six line poem, so here ya go. Also, I’m beginning to really like that sort of repetition thing that I have going on. Idk. I think it’s cool. I promise I’ll do something different for my next poem. Anyway, hope you enjoy this poem.

Disintegrated years back
Paint your heart white but it’s black
Your heart– an imperfect gift
All you have bridging a rift
That was made by you years back
Then so white, but now so black
Broken, just a worthless gift
Nobody dares cross the rift

But one did
Even though you hid
Eyes open you’re found
Look up from the ground

Broken with scattered parts
Out of all the dark hearts
Yours she decided to repair
Answer to an unspoken prayer
Broken but slowly fixed
Out from it all is mixed
Your chance before your very eye
Answering your small plaintive cry

But you are worth none of it
Out there someone’s better fit
Everything you do is wrong
You’re weak and not at all strong
Don’t deserve any of it
Yet she tells you that you fit
That even though you are wrong
She believes you can be strong

Broken with scattered parts
Out of all the dark hearts
Yours she decided to repair
Answer to an unspoken prayer
Broken now being fixed
Even though it’s still mixed
Yours by admission, just waiting
Take her hand– silence the aching

Tours yruly

7 thoughts on “Broken

  1. wow! I like how you told a story with it…the repetition is pretty cool too. I would just work a bit on finding better words to substitute the mundane ones, like “look” and then try to cut some of the little words that make it look messy. But your rhyming is flawless…YUSS. POETRY FTW.

    Like

    • Thanks. Yeah, this was a pretty rough poem. I don’t usually edit my poems a lot. XP They’re like little fun things for me to do when I take a break from serious writing. Poetry for the win indeed. It’s a great pastime when you’re too stressed out to write a novel. XD

      ~Michael Hollingworth
      Disce Ferenda Pati – Learn to endure what must be borne

      Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think!

