Decisions – First Journal Entry

Wacky signposts! XD

Wacky signposts! XD

So, hello guys. This is my journal entry for this week. I’m actually writing this from my phone, so forgive any errors I make. I do actually want to do these journal posts once a week though. This one will probably be longer than the rest, just because I’m going to be explaining the way this works.

The way I want to do journals is to write them based off the experiences of my week. Basically, I look for a theme in what I’ve been through, and write about it for you guys. This could be anything really. The idea is that I use my experiences as inspiration for a discussion that I can hold with you guys. Obviously these are going to be opinionated and subjective, so your opinions in the comments are welcome.

Anyway, this week I’ll be talking about decisions. I’m going to cover what I believe to be the best way for decisions to be made, how to deal with whatever consequences arise from the decision, and why it might not be the worst idea in the world to go back on a decision. What sparked this is the experience I went through this week. Last Saturday, I came to a conclusion, and after some brief thought, made a decision which I regretted for the rest of the week. Just today, however, I decided to revoke my decision, and came up with a new solution for the original problem.

What would be my advice for making decisions? Well, firstly, prayer. This is most certainly a given. Asking God for clarity and the presence of mind to make a wise and balanced decision should be the first step, and there I failed. Beyond prayer though, there should be a lot of thought. Decisions aren’t things to be rushed, unless it’s a life or death situation, and then pressure might excuse you from rash or impulsive actions. In my case I did not give myself enough time to consider this decision before I made it, and that resulted in trouble. My final piece of advice for making decisions is to discuss it with another person. Do this as soon as possible, before you’ve given yourself time to come up with your own ideas.

As for how to deal with the consequences of your decision, well, there are different methods. Mainly I will be focusing on what happens if your decision results in less-than-ideal outcomes. The first step would be to make sure that the less-than-ideal outcomes are actually less-than-ideal and not simply just resistance. What I mean by this is say I made the decision to go on a diet and avoid any kind of excessive sugar intake. This would mean that I would not be able to eat things like ice cream, candy, or cookies. Now, I would not like this, but that does not mean that it is a less-than-ideal outcome. A less-than-ideal outcome would be if I start becoming anorexic. Then I might have to reconsider my decision.

If really the decision has resulted in unforeseen problems, the problems should be weighed against the benefits. Say I was avoiding sugar because I easily get hyper. I would then have to decide if becoming anorexic is worth avoiding becoming hyper. If I feel that it is worth it, then I should find ways to minimize the effect of the bad consequences. This might involve something like eating more non-sugary foods. On the other hand, if I decide that it is not worth it, I should probably start considering changing my original decision.

Now, very rarely is a decision completely permanent, and rarely does it have permanent effects. Of course, there are exceptions, but few things last forever. That being said, having to make the same decision twice usually means something bad happened after the first time, so working through those lasting effects will require endurance. As for how to remake the decision, first check to see if it was hastily made, biased by a single opinion, or not backed by prayer. If any of those is the case, then that had to be reworked. If it is not the case, examine the situation again. See if anything has changed since the last time you made the decision. If nothing has changed, then make yourself another option. Usually if you think about it enough, you’ll be able to see things from a different perspective and use that to your advantage.

So, that’s my fairly lengthy journal for this week. All painstakingly written out on my phone. XP Hopefully it was of some insight or help, or at least interesting. Feel free to share your own opinions and ideas in the comments below. What do you think of decision-making? What tips would you give for it? Do you disagree with something I’ve said? Go ahead and put it down in the comments. I’ll be sure to check it out.

Tours yruly

Tell me what you think!

