A Painful Decision

So, yes, I know, I’ve been slacking on writing, but a guy needs a break right? XD No, actually, that’s not really why I’ve been abstaining from writing. The real reason is down below.

So, you guys all know by now I’m going to do NaNoWriMo. However, in the process of planning for my NaNoWriMo novel, which, by the way, is going to be called Unseen: Right Behind You (I find the title always gives me a little spark of inspiration, so it’s one of the first things I figure out), I was forced into a very tight corner.

I don’t know if you guys have ever had this feeling, but I know for certain I have. It doesn’t happen very often, but when it does, it’s bad. I had put down a bunch of notes for my plot, was fleshing out my characters, etc., when I suddenly had a sinking sensation. I looked at my notes for the plot, and knew that it was wrong. I couldn’t, and can’t, explain it, but I knew that my plot would not work out. I tried brainstorming for a way to salvage my plot, but I knew there was no way I could, and so, with much regret, I scrapped it.

This disappointed me greatly. I had worked out quite a number of details, and satisfaction had washed over me, until I realized. Basically, I went around the rest of the day looking like a thunderstorm. Okay, fine, I kinda do that all the time, but it was worse. It’s not my fault alright? I just look like I’m mad when I’m thinking profusely or trying to focus. Anyway, I spent the whole time desperately trying to think of a solution to my problem to no avail. Then I found that I was suffering from a terrible case of writing block.

These two...

These two…

Everyone knows about writing block, everyone has their methods to solving it, but not what many people discuss is that there are different kinds of writing block. In my case, I traced my sufferings back to a number of incidents all conspiring to obstruct my creative process. Firstly, I had simply exhausted my mental faculties by the sheer number of things I was doing, from schoolwork, to managing three novels, to planning a fourth. Not only that, but I had worn myself out physically by a late night and early morning. To add to that, I had not consumed anywhere near enough water (I pretty much never do) and my room was baking me alive.

To sum it up, I decided to take a short sabbatical, which means it’s not a sabbatical, but you get my point. Also, I just looked up sabbatical and it’s not what I thought it meant. Oh well. In the meantime, my head’s still been active, and I’ve restructured the plot for Right Behind You in my head. I’m not putting it down on paper yet, because I feel that when I do that, it sucks all the ideas out of my head, and new ones don’t come back fast enough. So what I’m going to do is fill up my creative storage, then dump it all out in the beginnings of an outline.

Side note: If you picked up on it and are curious, I do plan for Unseen: Right Behind You to be the first novel in a series called Unseen.

So, my question for you guys is: Have you ever had to completely scrap a plot. Did you know why, or did you just feel it wouldn’t work? Have you ever found yourself creatively exhausted? How did you deal with it?

Tours yruly

Tell me what you think!

