Lies

Train station

So, the time has come for another storyling from the abstracty line of text for the competition hearh! This one is not as dark as the last one, but it’s pretty sad, imo. I had fun with it, thinking up the backstory between the characters was enjoyable, and playing the character of a disappointed lover was new. XD Hope you guys like it. Also, 298 words. I cut it close, actually had to get rid of some stuff. Also, the line was this: “It was a lie I forced myself to believe all my life – until today.” Enjoy. 🙂

Sometimes lies are wrong. Sometimes they’re needed. Sometimes they hurt.

I stood there, hands fumbling awkwardly by my side, occasionally reaching up to readjust my hat. My heart heaved and surged, turgid with mixed emotions, but one stood out, love. Of course, I knew that I lied to myself. Even so, that knowledge did not stop my breath from catching in my throat as she mounted the platform. The motley group, gathered to see her off, surged forward.

I watched with a smile as she milled among the different people, everyone thanking her with tears of joy. She had a few words of encouragement and an affectionate embrace for each one. In sooner time than I would have thought possible, she stood in front of me. My fingers twitched nervously. There was no clasp of endearment between us, no words of motivation, but as I bent over her delicate hand, oh how I wished that she knew.

It was a lie I forced myself to believe all my life – until today. We were never meant to be. Even as I straightened, my vision blurred with emotion. I dashed a hand across my eyes; I wanted my last image of her to be crystalline clear. We stood there, uncertainly, waiting for something to happen. Both of us started, as in the distance, the train’s whistle sounded. I looked into her eyes and realized then that my affection was returned. My heart leapt in my chest. I– But it could not be. In another time, another place perhaps, but not here, not now. My gaze fell.

“Do you have something you’d like to say, Robert?”

I forced myself to meet her open, trusting face.

“No.”

Sometimes lies are wrong. Sometimes they’re needed. Sometimes they hurt. This lie was all three.

Tours yruly

6 thoughts on “Lies

    • Thanks so much for your feedback! I’ve been working on making my writing more emotional/relatable recently, and it’s encouraging to see that it’s been noticed. Sorry about making you sad though. XP

      ~Michael Hollingworth
      Disce Ferenda Pati – Learn to endure what must be borne

      Like

    • Yeah, I saw your name by the prompt, wondered if it was you. 🙂 Speaking of which, how would I submit a prompt? I can imagine it would be cool to see the things people come up with from your prompt.
      Thanks!

      ~Michael Hollingworth
      Disce Ferenda Pati – Learn to endure what must be borne

      Like

      • Near the end of the post it’s explained, I think. Basically in the comments you give three prompt ideas in the format as the ones that are given, i. e., three objects, a picture, and a sentence. Just go near the end of the post and check it out.
        You’re welcome. 😉

        Like

Tell me what you think!

