NP10 – Twist – Forgiveness

Chapters: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | ToC | Afterthoughts

We have finally arrived at the end. After an intriguing journey, I put a close to this novel. It has been a fascinating experience to be sure, and I hope you have enjoyed traveling with me through this as much as I have enjoyed crafting the voyage. It is with intense satisfaction, yet a twinge of sadness that I end this novel. I apologize for the darkness of this story as a whole, but it was an experiment, a trip of discovery you could say, and I have learned many things. So, without further ado, I present to you Chapter 10 of Twist: Forgiveness. Enjoy. 🙂

Forgiveness, one of the numerous qualities that raises us above the common animal.

Charles and Elaina stood silently, looking through the one-way window where Katherine talked animatedly with a doctor. She looked– happy. Charles gave a satisfied smile and turned to Elaina. She smiled back.

“I’m glad you didn’t kill Katherine,” Elaina said, studying Katherine’s childlike behavior as the sanatorium doctor showed her multiple new objects of interest. Katherine had undergone an operation to remove the tumor that had developed in her brain, but this had caused severe amnesia, and now she was relearning all that she had forgotten.

“I’m sorry I even ‘ad to shoot ‘er,” Charles said gruffly.

“Well, at least she’s not dead. I hated her you know, but seeing her like this, the innocence in her manner, I realize that that wasn’t her back there. She’s not a monster. She was  what we made her out to be.” There was a pause as both their minds travelled back in time, then Elaina said merrily, “Let’s talk about lighter topics.

“So, what do you think of your American citizenship?”

Charles grinned. “It sure feels good isal I’ll say.”

Nathaniel’s death had been reported as accidental, for both Charles and Elaina argued that since Katherine had not been in her right mind when she killed the detective, it was technically unintended. The bullet wound on Katherine was a little more difficult to explain away, and they had had to resort to some amount of deception. It had all turned out well however, and as the two new friends stood together in the sanatorium, they felt a peace that they had been completely devoid of previously.

The duo just stood there, basking in each other’s company, and in the silent space that followed, Charles reflected on how much he had changed. He used to be an unrefined person really, making whatever money he could, and living completely destitute of education. Now he was an American, living with an exceptionally kind guardian, and was slowly learning English.

But these were only the tangible differences. He had changed in so many more ways. Previously – though he had done a good job of hiding it, that much he could be satisfied in – he had been uncertain, fearful even. His past haunted him like his shadow, and he had never truly escaped from the harrowing incidents of his life. Now though, he was different. He felt confident, confident in the fact that he was not completely worthless, and that he was not the jinx to every situation. He had even started to look into the belief that caused people like Pastor Seth to journey into the wild depths of the Amazon.

Charles was plucked from his thoughts by a furrowing in Elaina’s brow.

“What’s wrong?” he asked worriedly.

She flashed him a reassuring quick smile. “Nothing really, I was just trying to figure out what Katherine meant by saying that you must fulfill the name of Agteroe.”

“Oh– uh–” Charles seemed rather embarrassed and ill at ease. “Agteroe is m’last name, and it means ‘Hero’. I guess, in some twisted sorttof sense, she connected our last names with their meanin’s to come up with a sort of dest’iny.” Eager to direct the attention away from himself, for he felt uncomfortable taking the limelight, even if it was in name only, Charles hurriedly posed a question without thinking.

“Why do you blame yerself for yer mother’s death?” Then, realizing what he had just said, Charles hastened to make amends. “Imean– If it’sa touchy subject, then I’d b’fine t’ignore it.”

Elaina turned away. She was quiet, for this question conjured up memories as unpleasant as those that had lately been created. Charles was chastising himself silently when she spoke, “I was driving.” She stopped, and Charles heard her take in a shaky breath. He could see that she was warring terribly with herself, so he took a step towards her, but something warned him back, and he waited patiently for her to continue. “My Mom was sitting beside me. I turned to her to say something.” Elaina spun around, tears streaking her face. “Then we crashed. And she got sent to the hospital, but she– she never recovered.” Elaina was sobbing now. “And me? I got out of it completely unscathed. Don’t you see? It’s all my fault….”

Her voice faltered, and burying her face in her hands, she collapsed to the floor. Charles stood for a moment, unsure of himself, then he stepped forward and helped Elaina back to her feet. Feeling even more embarrassed than he had before, he regretted bringing this topic up. Relentlessly he racked his mind for something to restore Elaina’s comfort with, but before he had even formed a complete thought, he found himself speaking.

“I feel that this’ole experience ‘as been a lessun on forgiveness. Us forgiving Katherine was a big step in the right direction, but I think also that w’need to learn to forgive ourselves.”

Another minute passed, and after a valiant effort on her part, Elaina’s sorrowful emotions slowly subsided. Looking up from staring at the floor, she said, “Thanks– Charles. I’m sorry about all this, but thank you. I really needed to get this off my chest, and sharing with you has really helped. I don’t think you realize the magnitude of what I’m feeling, but I really am grateful.”

Charles smiled inwardly. If only she knew. Merriment from the neighboring room caught their attention, and looking back through the window they saw Katherine laughing with the doctor at a joke he had made.

“At least I brought happiness to somebody,” Elaina said with a smile.

“Y’know,” Charles said slowly. “That’s how I feel too.”

“Really?” Elaina asked disbelievingly.

“You doubt me?” Charles questioned impishly, then he sobered. “Yes; exactly how I feel.”

A moment of silence followed. This was then broken by the appearance of an adult couple at the end of a hallway.

“Come on kids!” they called. “Time to go!”

Charles strode grinning towards his new parent and greeted her with a cheery ‘Hey Mom!’. Elaina, after wiping the tears from her face, rushed forward to her father.

“How’s my jewel?” he asked, smiling broadly at his daughter. “Recovered from the ridiculous trip I sent her on?”

Elaina smiled back. “Completely.”

The four turned and exited the building in pairs, both parents first, followed closely by the two teens.

***

Inside the doctor’s office in the sanatorium, Katherine was watching attentively as he explained to her how to open a bottle.

“You see here, you hold the bottle firmly in your left hand, then you grasp the lid like so, and turn it. Here, you try. All it needs is a twist.”

Katherine took the bottle from him. First she examined it from all sides, then imitating the doctor, she said softly, “All it needs is a twist.”

 ~ For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whosoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life ~

The End.

Tours yruly

14 thoughts on “NP10 – Twist – Forgiveness

  1. Excellent ending, Michael. Very well done and executed. I am sad still about Nathan’s death. It seems to me that they would feel the after affects of having their friend killed a little more, but otherwise you do a really good job with all this wrapping up. And I REALLY like how Charles is adopted and given a new start and all. This is such a happy, satisfying ending. It makes me feel good which makes it the best sort of end.

    ~Kaytee Green

    Like

    • Thanks! So, I get what you’re saying about aftereffects, but it has been at least a month, so I don’t know. Do you think it would extend that long?

      I’m glad you liked the ending and how it ended on a lighter note. It certainly makes me feel good to know that you feel good. Thanks. 🙂

      ~Michael Hollingworth
      Disce Ferenda Pati – Learn to endure what must be borne

      Like

  2. Wow! Through all the darkness and mystery, you ended this on a really light and forgiving note! The only thing I was confused about was the “adult couple” that came down the hallway. Did Elaina’s dad remarry and adopt Charles? Are the two not together? If they’re not, then I wouldn’t use the word “couple” BUT other than that, this was great! Maybe dig a little deeper into emotions (I though Elaina’s breakdown was a little sudden) but yup, that’s it! I can’t believe it’s done! Awesome job with the whole story! Oh and thanks for letting me live!
    ~Elena

    Like

    • Glad you liked the conclusion. 🙂 I see where the confusion of the term ‘couple’ would come in, but the whole idea was that I was trying to imply they weren’t married but were in a possible relationship. I kinda wanted to leave that up to debate, but if you feel I should confirm it whether or not they are in a happy state of matrimony then… Anyways. More into emotions? Sure! I’d be glad to do that. i don’t think I actually read through the whole thing a bunch of times, mainly sections, so I can see how I would miss the suddenness.

      Thank you very much, and no thanks from you are due, for that was my plan right from the beginning. However, if you insist, then you are very much welcome. 😀

      ~Michael Hollingworth
      Disce Ferenda Pati – Learn to endure what must be borne

      Like

  3. Ah! Good ending! *clap, clap clap* Very satisfying!
    At the end, when the doctor was teaching Katherine to unscrew a bottle top, I was half expecting her to imitate his words, then bash him over the head with the bottle, like she went insane again and would go after Elaina and Charles. But that thought was quickly subdued by the Bible verse…
    Just a couple points: when Charles explains his last name, you left off the colloquialism. And the title of this chapter should be ‘Forgiveness’, imo. (Just wondering, are Elaina and Charles into each other?? It would be kinda cute…)
    Anyway, great job wrapping up Twist. I saw some great character arcs, morals, literary devices, and, of course, plot twists ;D I still applaud you for befuddling me with that one twist, which will haunt me forever…
    Tours Yruly,
    Ghost of Annabel-34

    Like

    • I’m glad you enjoyed the ending. 😀 hehe, I was considering leaving off with a menacing ending, then I decided that it was too much dark already, and opted for the happy one. 😀

      Ok, thanks for catching that. And forgiveness. Hmm… Actually that’s a really helpful suggestion, because epilogue was not something I was satisfied with at all. 😀 (And yup, you caught on my not so subtle hints apparently. They are. ;))

      Thanks. I’m glad you enjoyed the story, and I hope to see you in my next one. 😀

      Tours yruly,
      ~Michnotsoevil Hollingworth
      Disce Ferenda Pati – Learn to endure what must be borne

      Like

      • I’m glad my suggestions were helpful=)
        imo, you should leave off with a menacing ending, cuz it would satisfy ME, if no one else. (But then you really couldn’t have the Bible verse, could you?)
        Will I really be in your next story, Michnotsoevil??? Will I be a flamethrowing robot??? lol
        Anna B.

        Like

        • Well, I’m sorry to disappoint, but I think I’ll be quite adamant about keeping the happy ending. =) Because, I mean, Katherine isn’t really a psychopath at heart, and I feel that leaving off with the menacing ending would set me up for a sequel, which I’d prefer not to write, since in my opinion, one Twist is more than enough. 😀

          However, to counter my harshness in rejecting your opinion, you will actually be in my next story (which I’m currently working on planning). However, you will not be a flamethrowing robot sadly or happily, depending on you point of view. 😉

          ~Michael Hollingworth
          Disce Ferenda Pati – Learn to endure what must be borne

          Like

        • Ok, you honestly had me worried there. I’m not very good at seeing through jokes. (As was evinced by my worry in class today when you pranked me by saying that you could not hear me. XP) Still, that doesn’t mean I don’t mind getting taken advantage of for a good laugh. 😀

          ~Michael Hollingworth
          Disce Ferenda Pati – Learn to endure what must be borne

          P.s. I promise, you won’t die in two chapters in my next story, and you will have a very crucial role to play. 😉

          Like

        • Who’s gullible now, eh? lol
          I don’t mean to take advantage of you, but that was just too hilarious today when I got you stressed out over the mic!!! XD
          ah! *wipes tears* sorry…but as you probably have found out already, I am a VERY sarcastic and prankful person>=D
          Anna B.

          Like

        • Well why else would I try to fool everybody with a story about a twist? XD
          It’s perfectly fine, when I’m not dead tired, I tend to see these incidents from a funny point of view, and I can imagine that my worry would have been beautiful to a VERY sarcastic and prankful person like you. =P

          ~Michael Hollingworth
          Disce Ferenda Pati – Learn to endure what must be borne

          Like

Tell me what you think!

