Interview with Nathaniel IV

And here is Nathaniel’s fourth interview! Also, at the end I have appended an edited section of chapter 2 which explains how Elaina and Nathaniel got permission to travel all over the world; sort of. And, I really am behind this week, normally I would have the interviews out sooner, but I did two chapters of Nightmare, and I’ve been working on another chapter of The Dark Menace, and I have been really busy with programming, and other obligations. However, I will get to commenting on all you guys’ blogs and reading all your new posts; I promise.

Interviewer: Hello Nathaniel.

Nathaniel (cooly): Hello.

Interviewer: What did you think of Pastor Seth?

Nathaniel’s breath hitches slightly, then his face hardens.

Nathaniel: Typical missionary.

Interviewer: I get the feeling you will not react well to my next question.

Nathaniel (annoyed): Just get on with it.

Interviewer: What did you think of the pamphlet?

Nathaniel: It– it was better than most.

Interviewer: Fair enough. What conclusion have you arrived to relative to the mystery?

Nathaniel: I have not even had a chance to examine the campsite. What would you expect?

Interviewer: How do you expect to find clues for a two year old mystery? Surely there is some discrepancy there?

Nathaniel: Whatever affected the two who came here was big. Nobody is affected like that by a small occurrence. Reports say they were shaken when they returned.

Interviewer: So how does that relate to my question?

Nathaniel: Are you an stupi– If there was something big enough here that could change their lives in three days, then it had to leave some sort of trace.

Interviewer: Isn’t that, well, a rather weak theory to go on?

Nathaniel: No.

Interviewer: Okay, whatever you say. What about Katherine?

Nathaniel: What about her?

Interviewer: You are the most annoying person in the world sometimes.

Nathaniel (coldly): I think you will be more accurate by removing ‘sometimes’.

So, I have this little excerpt I have taken from an edited version of chapter 2. This is because it was kindly pointed out to me that I did not clearly explain how in the world two teens were getting permission to just travel all over the world.
“Well everybody visits Amazon,” Elaina said. “I do my shopping on there all the time.”
“You. got. to. be. kidding.”
“I am!” and Elaina’s merry laughter rung through the phone, making Nathaniel wince. Her unbounded cheerfulness grated severely with his own sorrow. Then as she realized Nathaniel was not joining her in laughter, Elaina sobered. “So are we actually going to the Amazon? How can you even get permission to do something like that?”
“I am my legal guardian. The question is, how are you going to get permission to do something like this?”
“Well, if this is something to get me out of this mystery, you failed. I will get permission, never fear. And if you are your own legal guardian, does that mean you’re eighteen? And how are we going to get there?”
“Yes, and I have already paid for two tickets.”

 

Tours yruly

3 thoughts on “Interview with Nathaniel IV

    • ok. glad the excerpt fixed it, and the formatting problem is that there are no spaces between the last few paragraphs.

      ~Michael Hollingworth
      Disce Ferenda Pati – Learn to endure what must be borne

      Like

Tell me what you think!

