Speech Tournament

Hello guys. I went to a speech tournament recently, and saw the final round of an interpretive speech competition. (Elena, if you’re reading this, then yeah, after you explained the different types to me, I figured out which one we actually went to). Because of this, I was inspired to write a poem about it, but from the perspective of the competitor. Enjoy. 🙂

In the room there is a crowd.

Tentatively I enter.

Must not make a noise too loud.

I stand in the room; the center.

The judges shuffle papers,

And my eyes start to caper–

From point to point in the room.

My hands don’t know what to do.

Then slowly the judges stop.

One by one they all look up.

Then both my hands grow steady.

“Are all the judges ready?”

One word yes and the dam breaks.

The pent up words start to flow.

There’s no way to put on brakes.

Swiftly the story unfolds.

One moment and it’s over.

My heart starts beating slower.

I shake hands with the judges

And say thanks that they have judged.

And then I thank my timer.

My time: Nine forty-niner.

Relief flows through my body,

And I leave the room with glee.

2 thoughts on “Speech Tournament

  1. I debate, and we have speech events at the debates. Although I have never done any of the speech events, I have watched them many times, and I could totally see a speaker thinking this! Great poem!

    Like

    • Thanks! Yeah, I had to draw on all my acting experience ever to try and figure out how to write this, never having been in a speech or debate tournament before.

      ~Michael Hollingworth
      Disce Ferenda Pati – Learn to endure what must be borne

      Like

Tell me what you think!

