CW14 – Of Songs, Stories, and Myself

A media autobiography. One word: wow. I would never have thought I would be writing one. Where to start. The beginning, the end, or the middle? Well, let’s put it this way. I see no good beginning. Only a middle and end. Oh well. Allow this to be the beginning then, and I will start at the middle.

Somewhere Over the Rainbow – Judy Garland

Years ago, I don’t know how many, we had a little toy that would play the tune to this song. My mum would also sing a little of it for me every now and then. I always enjoyed listening to this song. It touched a spot somewhere inside me and anchored there, as this shows. Speaking of music, I may as well discuss my musical career.

Humoresque – Dvořák

I started with wanting to play the violin. But the teacher we went to scared me off it by saying that I would have to stand for long periods of time. This then made me chose cello, since you sat down to play it; perfectly logical right? I had a tough time with cello. My teacher was not very nice, and after one year, it was torture to me. However, I always appreciated classical music, and one of the songs that I played and really enjoyed was “Humoresque”. It was one of my favorites, and to me is really beautiful. My cello lessons were ended when we moved to the U.S., and since then, I’ve never picked it up again.

Not exactly humoresque, but it's me playing!

Not exactly humoresque, but it’s me playing!

River Flows in You – Yiruma

After we moved from Singapore, I started playing the piano. I began with a dvd course that taught me the basics of reading music. Then I moved on to an actual teacher. Initially, I was extremely tentative about the new teacher, but he turned out to be as nice as my previous teacher had been mean. I really enjoyed my classes with him, and was extremely sad when we moved away from Oregon to California. He kind of spoiled me, and I have not dared to take another teacher since, so I now pick up any song I have mind to play, and that’s about it.

“River Flows in You” was a song introduced to me by a cousin. I enjoyed it so much, that I memorized all but the end completely in about two weeks. The reason for this hurried memorization was because I was visiting in Singapore, and was trying to memorize it before we left. I succeeded mostly, and now play it purely for enjoyment of the tune.

Robin Hood (multiple versions of the story) and Ivanhoe – Walter Scott

When I was much younger, around or before the time I was learning cello. The two movies, Robin Hood and Ivanhoe were near the top of my list for watching. I watched them so much together that they are like one for me now. I enjoyed these so much, that I even went on to read the book Ivanhoe, and three versions of Robin Hood. I do believe that these two movies/books are the inspiration for my current interest in sword fighting and archery.

Robin Hood Title PageIvanhoe Title Page

The Hardy Boys – Franklin W. Dixon

After Robin Hood and Ivanhoe came the Hardy Boys. I was first introduced to them at my grandmother’s house when one of my cousins accidentally left their book of Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys there. I read it, and found that I really enjoyed it. I told my father about it, and when he brought me on his business trip a little while later, he gave me a set of six books to read. After this, I bought random books throughout the series to read.

The Tower Treasure Title Page

This also influenced me to write my first novel. As I mentioned before, I was introduced to this by the Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew. I always was curious about the Nancy Drew series, but was always to embarrassed to ask about it, since it was about girls, and yeah. So instead, I decided to create a Nancy Drew for myself. I started my novel, the Mystery of the Highway Terror. About a year later, I finished it.

At Agincourt – G. A. Henty

Eventually, the Hardy Boys got repetitive for me. I realized there was a “standard format” to the books, and quit reading them. A while after, my mother purchased for my reading, about sixty or seventy of G. A. Henty’s historical fiction. I gobbled these up. The reason At Agincourt is the book I mentioned, is because it is the first one that came to my mind. But the first G. A. Henty book I read was actually Wallace and Bruce. This really got me into historical fiction, and I read some of R. M. Ballantyne’s books afterwards. Every now and then, I still pick up one of Henty’s books to read; and this is despite my hatred for facts!

At Agincourt Title Page

I Surrender All – Clay Crosse

I realize that throughout this whole autobiography, I have not yet mentioned anything about my religion and my view on it. But, I believe that “I Surrender All” by Clay Crosse accurately depicts my attitude towards God. It really is a beautiful song, and surrendering all to God makes complete sense to me. After all, He did send His son to death for us. The least we can do is give some back.

The Boy Colonel – John J. Horn

Continuing on the previous paragraph’s discussion on religion. I must include a period I had where I was really thinking about God and war. There are two things that Jesus did not experience when he was here on Earth. A relationship with somebody of the opposite gender, and a war. True, they were under Roman occupation, but there was not really a war going on. I had been pondering on this for at least six months before I found the Boy Colonel on a bookshelf in a  bookstore. My mom bought it for me a while after, and I literally gobbled it down. I finished it in a night and a morning; and it’s not a short book! Even now, I consider it to be one of the best books I’ve ever read, and would recommend it to any boy and maybe some girls as an excellent Christian book. Anyway, this story basically put the cap on all my ideas of God and war, and I haven’t thought about that since.

The Boy Colonel Title Page

Ranger’s Apprentice – John Flanagan

We have finally arrived at the part where I talk about what is happening to me now. I am now working my way through the series Ranger’s Apprentice, and am enjoying it. It has inspired me to continue writing the novel Order of the Blade (this is a novel that I have attempted to write five times!). I just finished reading book 10, and am looking forward to book 11.

Ranger's Apprentice Title Page

Stronger – Kelly Clarkson

This is the most recent of all. It is a song I heard at a restaurant a few days ago. Its chorus really struck me when I realized it sort of reflected my view on life. Sort of. Whenever I do something that has some risk attached to it, whether it is physical, mental, or emotional risk, I go in thinking to myself that whatever happens happens, and if I’m meant to die, get hurt, be shocked, made mad, or sad, or whatever it is, it’s meant to be. If it happens, it was meant to happen, and I honestly don’t have to care. This does not mean I’m reckless. In no way am I reckless; well… I’m actually not sure what my brother would say to that. However, I don’t waste time worrying about something that I cannot change.

4 thoughts on “CW14 – Of Songs, Stories, and Myself

  1. Awww! That picture of you playing the cello is so cute! And Humoresque is such a fun song to play! I’m not sure if you knew, but I play cello, which is why I’m so passionate about the topic. You shouldn’t have quit just because you had a bad teacher! (I have felt like quitting in the past, but I never let myself)
    Anyway, great job with the media autobiography!
    Anna B.

    Like

    • Thanks! 🙂 Humoresque was indeed a fun song to play. I think I recall you mentioning that you played cello in class. Well, I was young, and I endured it for two years at least (I think).

      Thanks once again. 😀

      ~Michael Hollingworth
      Disce Ferenda Pati – Learn to endure what must be borne

      Like

Tell me what you think!

