J11 – Difficulty Conversation-wise

What follows is fictional, but based on what actually goes on through my head (and what actually happens) when I want to ask either of my parents to help me buy something.

I stood there, next to my Mom, trying to decide if I should ask her to help me buy that new software online. I imagined three possible scenarios in my head.

Scenario 1:

“Mom?” I say.

“Yes, Michael?”

“Um, could you help me buy FL Studio so I can pay you back?” Wait, cut, what kind of sentence is that?

“Um, could you help me buy FL Studio online? I’ll pay you back.” I ask.

“What’s FL Studio?”

“It’s a music-making software.”

“What do you want it for? Don’t you already have a music-making software?” She questions, turning from her cooking.

“Yes, I do have one, but FL Studio is different. It has more capabilities, and makes music in a different way.” Cut! FL Studio doesn’t make the music. Gosh Michael.

“Yes, I do have one, but FL Studio is different. It has more capabilities, and allows you to make music in a different way.”

“Okay, but I can’t do it now. We can talk about it after lunch.”

Scenario 2:

“Mom?”

“Yes, Michael?” My Mom says tiredly. “I’m trying to cook. What do you want?”

“Um, could you help me buy FL Studio online? I’ll make sure to pay you back. I checked and I have enough money.”

“How much is it?”

“It’s ninety-something dollars the last time I checked.” I reply.

“Ninety dollars! What do you want this for again?”

“It’s for me to make music,” I tell her timidly.

“Didn’t you already have a music making software?”

“Um, yeah, but that one kind of stank.”

“Okay, I’ll think about it. Go and do your schoolwork. You need to stop getting distracted Michael.”

Scenario 3:

“Hey Mom! How are you doing?”

My Mom turns and gives me a weird look.

“What?” I ask innocently.

“Nothing, what is it you want?”

“I was just wondering if you could buy FL Studio for me. I’ve got enough money to pay you back.”

“Is this that software that you use to make that bad music?”

“I keep telling you Mom, it’s not bad music. There’s no bad words, it has the three essential parts of music, it’s just not Classical music.”

She sighs. “Can we discuss this some other time? I’m too tired to think right now.”

“Alright.”

Finally, after going through those scenarios, and deciding which one is the most favored for my cause, I waltz into the kitchen and began the conversation.

“Mom?”

“Michael,” she says, surprise in her voice. “Aren’t you supposed to be in class?”

“What? Oh– Oh! Shoot!”

Fl studio!

Fl studio!

8 thoughts on “J11 – Difficulty Conversation-wise

  1. haha! this journal put a smile on my face:) I love the ending, when none of the scenarios you imagined take place, but rather an unpleasant surprise: “Aren’t you supposed to be in class?” Sounds like a bad day to me.
    Anna B.

    Like

    • I think this must be my most popular journal. Anyway, I wanted to recount what actually happens in my life, which is, I think up a bunch of scenarios, but none of them every happen, and in this, I thought up a funny twist, which I’m embarrassed to say, has actually occurred before. 🙂

      ~Michael Hollingworth
      Disce Ferenda Pati – Learn to endure what must be borne

      Like

  2. hahahah! this made me laugh 🙂 i’m the same way when it comes to asking my parents for stuff that THEY would have to get me and i’m not sure how they are going to react to it. great job!

    Like

  3. LOL:D This really got me laughing. I do the same thing in my head when I have a difficult question to ask my parents. I like how you gave three possible scenarios.
    ~Kaytee Green

    Like

Tell me what you think!

