J7 You Think I’m Gonna Give Y’all Spoilers?

This week’s journal assignment was to write about our favorite Bible story. This isn’t very enjoyable, it’s just me giving my opinion on a very famous Bible story.

I do not have a favorite Bible story that I can think of off the top of my head. However, having said that, the story of Elijah and the infinite oil and flour is one that I enjoy particularly. The reason I relish this story is that it shows a little of what God is willing to do through us. I mean, infinite food, few things are better than that, unless it is infinite money, but that’s another story. In 1 Kings 17:16, the Bible says:

“The jar of flour was not spent, neither did the jug of oil become empty, according to the word of the Lord that he spoke by Elijah.” [ESV Emphasis added]

Elijah willed himself to be a tool in the hands of God, never doubting, but following what he felt God was telling him to do. This faith was what allowed him to tell the widow, “Do not fear; go and do as you have said. But first make me a little cake of it and bring it to me, and afterward make something for yourself and your son.” [1 Kings 17:13 ESV]. But, not only did he do so, but with God’s guidance, Elijah continues, “For thus says the Lord, the God of Israel, ‘The jar of flour shall not be spent, and the jug of oil shall not be empty, until the day that the Lord sends rain upon the Earth.” [1 Kings 17:14 ESV] Amen! Just imagine making a proclamation like that. I don’t think many of us would dare to tell a random person that they meet on the street something like that. What makes this even more amazing is that this is not the first time Elijah made bold statement like that. He had done it before, and he did it afterwards, when he challenged Ahab to a facedown between God and Baal.

There's the jug!

There’s the jug!

~Michael Hollingworth
Disce Ferenda Pati – Learn to endure what must be borne

Tell me what you think!

