J4-Revenge will Hurt the Avenger

This week’s Journal entry was on the topic of a lesson covered by a Fable. I chose the topic “Revenge will Hurt the Avenger,” and I believe my life story that accompanies it demonstrates the point quite well. Enjoy.

This is a lesson that was taught to me once, in a way that I can never forget. It was taught in a way so pungent, that whenever this subject comes up, I am bound to bring up this story.

I was six or seven, thereabouts, and I was attending kindergarten. We had just finished a lesson and were given leave to enjoy ourselves outside for a bit. I ran about frolicking, glad for the brief respite from the monotony of the classroom. As I moved about, I happened across the path of a fellow student. He, out of the blue, decided to do something: He spat on me, and disdainfully turned away.

I was incensed. A cauldron of inestimable fury boiled over inside me, and in my rage, I rushed after him and spat back, fiercely. The teacher, who happened along just then, noticed my act, and, grabbing me by the arm, forced me to apologize. I do not recall if I told her about the other student’s spitting act, not that it made any difference. I can still remember him standing there, grinning smugly at me.

Later, after class, the teacher told my Mother about the incident. I then gave her my side of the story, and my Mother decided to use this as an example for how fruitless, childish, and petty, revenge is. Since that day, this lesson has been hammered into me as one would drive a nail into resisting wood. Now, I finally believe I can say that I have avoided taking revenge, no matter how somebody annoys me. I may speak up, I may complain, I may even shout, yell, and loose my temper, but the thought of reciprocating does not enter my mind. For, as Roman 12:19 says, “Beloved, never avenge yourselves, but leave it to the wrath of God, for it is written, ‘Vengeance is mine, I will repay, says the Lord.’”

 

~Michael Hollingworth
Disce Ferenda Pati – Learn to endure what must be borne

3 thoughts on “J4-Revenge will Hurt the Avenger

  1. Michael, what a great lesson to learn, especially at such a young age. I know I still struggle with wanting revenge. I have always had a hot head and fast temper and this has really helped put things into perspective. Very well written and what an extensive vocabulary! ps thank you for the kind words you always seem to leave on my page (even though my work does not really deserve such praise). And if I have not responded to any questions it’s because I really do not know how. I have just figured out how to go to other links. =]

    Like

Tell me what you think!

